Bertil Roos Race Series Recap at Palm Beach


Fierro, Jasper Capture Bertil Roos Openers

Foley Sweeps Group 2; Takes Points Lead


JUPITER, Fla. — Justin Fierro and Gabe Jasper raced their way to Group 1 victories Monday, March 19 in the Bertil Roos Racing Series openers at Palm Beach International Raceway.


Seth Foley scored a sweep of Group 2 races at the famous 2.2-mile road course.


Fierro, an Atlanta-area racer, emerged out front from a four-way battle for the lead in the opening race. He passed pole sitter Andy Ourant for the lead on lap 11 of the 15-lap race and held off a hard-charging Tim Nichols at the end. It was Fierro’s third career victory.


Nichols, the defending series champion, was tapped in turn nine on the opening lap and started to spin when he collected the No. 5 car of Jasper. The wreck brought out a full-course yellow and eliminated Jasper from the race.


When the race went back green, Nichols moved from seventh to fourth in one lap. But, it took another seven laps for him to get to third.


He wasn’t the only one charging to the front as Jason Auwarter raced from eighth to second by lap 12. Nichols moved around him for the runner-up spot two laps later as the ferocious racing continued.


Ourant, whose qualifying time of 1:35.01 was .74 of a second faster than Nichols, passed Auwater for third, and Adam Colombo rounded out the top five.


There was another four-way battle for the lead early in race No. 2 with Ourant making his way out front before Nichols re-took the top spot the next lap.


Jasper worked his way to the front, moving into the second position on lap 5 and passing Nichols for the lead a lap later. With the competition tough throughout, Fierro spun in turn 10 while chasing Nichols for second.


Jasper, also a champion powerboat racer from New Jersey, led the rest of the way to earn his sixth career win. Nichols and Ourant filled out the podium, while Auwarter and Stephen Connor rounded out the top five.


Glenn Brooks set fast time amongst Group 2 with a qualifying lap of 1:36.20. However, outside pole sitter Foley quickly flexed his muscle in the opening race and took the lead in turn 1.


Robert Pielsticker passed Brooks for second on lap eight and the top three remained that way the rest of the 15-lap race.


Behind the three podium finishers, Vincent Caintic passed Frank Tiano for fourth place as the two rounded out the top five.


Foley, a multiple-time karting champion from Maryland, immediately grabbed the lead in the second race as Caintic and Tiano were involved in a turn one crash, eliminating both from the race. Pielsticker made another charge back to the runner-up spot.


Brooks took the final podium spot, while Chris Sanford and 2017 Rookie of the Year Vinnie Virga rounded out the top five.


Foley now holds the lead in the Bertil Roos Race Series standings 48-44 over Pielsticker and Nichols.


The next pair of races in the 16-race series is set for April 20-21 at Pocono Raceway.


2018 Bertil Roos Formula Car Race Series

  • April 20-21, Pocono International Raceway
  • May 25-26, New Jersey Motorsports Park
  • June 8-9, Dominion Raceway
  • June 29-30, New Jersey Motorsports Park
  • August 31 – Sept. 1, Pocono International Raceway
  • September 28-29, Pocono International Raceway
  • October 12-13, Pocono International Raceway