Foley Finishes Off Championship Run in Style

LONG POND, Pa. — Seth Foley capped off a dominant run in the 2019 Bertil Roos Race Series with his eighth and ninth wins of the season Saturday, October 12 at the Pocono Raceway South/East course.

With his third weekend sweep in a row, Foley romped to a 285-265 win over Derek Jose in the final championship standings. It was the first series championship for Foley, who was runner-up the previous year.

Foley left nothing to chance this time around, setting the fast time in Group 1 qualifying with lap of 1:14.46 over a half-second quicker than Jose’s time. He proceeded to win the first Group 1 race, followed to the finish line by 2018 series champion Andy Ourant and Kirk Weatherman. Jose finished fourth and Reiner Oberst rounded out the top five.

It was a sweep for Foley with his win in race No. 2 as Jose emerged as the runner-up. Ourant had another podium finish in third. Weatherman finished fourth and Earl Ihrie crossed the finish line fifth.

Tim Nichols, a three-time series champion who holds the all-time record for BRRS wins, paced Group 2 qualifying with the fast lap at 1:14.28. However, rookie Tommy Cadwalader stole the show, racing to the first Group 2 victory.

Nichols held on to finish second, followed by Geoff Valentino. Adam Colombo and Rich White rounded out the top five.

It was much of the same in the second Group 2 race with Cadwalader getting the weekend sweep. Second and third remained the same with Nichols holding off Valentino. White and Colombo flipped the fourth and fifth positions.

Nichols finished third in the series championship standings with 258 points. He was followed by Valentino with 249 and Cadwalader with 239 points.

Other top-10 points finishers were: Colombo, Ourant, Weatherman, Oberst and Frank Tiano.

Cadwalader won Rookie of the Year 123-95 over Craig Curran with Frank Anelante third. Curran won Hard Charger of the Year and Ourant was named Sportsman of the Year.

The 2019-20 Bertil Roos Winter Series kicks off Oct. 25-26 at Palm Beach International Raceway, Jupiter, Fla. Licensed drivers call 1-800-RACE-NOW to sign up as spots are limited.