Foley, Jose Lead Bertil Roos Standings After Lime Rock Sweeps

September 30, 2019

 Seth Foley and Derek Jose rank 1-2 in the Bertil Roos Race Series points following a sweep of their respective races on Sept. 19-20 at Lime Rock Park.

Foley dominated Group 1 action from the get-go. He set fast time in qualifying at 1:02.99 around the historic Connecticut track and then proved to be just as tough during the pair of races which followed.

He rolled to the win in race No. 1 followed by Vincent Caintic and rookie Brian Trible. Adam Colombo and another rookie Brittion Smith rounded out the top five.

Foley didn’t slow down in the second race. Again, he was the leader of the pack, although the running order behind him completely changed. Ira Nesbitt raced to the runner-up spot with Reiner Oberst finishing third. Bob Perlmutter was fourth and Ken Slattum wound up fifth.

Tim Nichols set the fast time for Group 2, speeding around the challenging circuit in 1:02.38. Jose got around Nichols and powered on to the win in race No. 1. Nichols posted a strong second-place run ahead of Geoff Valentino in third, Gabe Jasper in fourth and Tommy Cadwalader in fifth.

Foley led the charge as top three drivers from the first race finished the same in race No. 2. It changed behind the podium finishers of Nichols and Valentino with Kirk Weatherman taking the fourth spot and Frank Tiano in fifth.

With maximum points for each race, Foley extended his lead in the championship standings with just four races left in the series. He now leads 252-224 over Jose, who vaulted into second place. Nichols is two points outside second at 222 points. Valentino with 214 points and Cadwalader with 199 points round out the top five.

The Bertil Roos Race Series gets back on track this weekend at Pocono Raceway’s South Track.


Back To News Page