Jasper Ends Strong to Capture Winter Series Title

February 26, 2020

Philip Jasper scored three wins in the final four races to capture the Bertil Roos Winter Series championship for the 2019-20 season.


KERSHAW, S.C. — Philip Jasper scored three wins in the final four races to capture the Bertil Roos Winter Series championship for the 2019-20 season.

With events No. 4 and 5 held at the Carolina Motorsports Park, Jasper trailed Dai by 11 points coming into the weekend. However, Jasper found the layout to his liking, setting a fast time of 1:48.36 around the 2.23-mile road course.

Jasper parlayed that strong start into a victory in the first of two Saturday Group 1 races. Chris Willcox posted a second-place finish with Gabe Jasper rounding out the podium finishers. Bob Perlmutter and Joe Dounchis took the other top-five spots as Dai suffered the misfortune of a DNF.

Gabe Jasper had the winning formula in the second Group 1 race with Willcox again taking runner-up honors. Dai made up some lost ground with his third-place finish, while Perlmutter and Charles Shiner rounded out the top five. Philip Jasper wound up seventh.

It set the stage for a Sunday showdown which started with Willcox posting the top qualifying time of 1:49.32.

Philip Jasper charged from fourth to first and won the first Sunday Group 1 race. Dai kept the pressure on with his second-place finish. Perlmutter got his first podium of the weekend, followed by Shiner and Willcox.

With the championship on the line, Philip Jasper was up to the challenge, capturing his third win of the weekend and sixth of the season. Willcox finished up a strong showing with his third runner-up finish, while Dai was third for his third podium finish. Gabe Jasper and Perlmutter made up the rest of the top five.


The action was fast in Saturday’s Group 2 event where Joe Lattanzi started off the weekend with a quick lap of 1:50.58. Reiner Oberst assumed the point during the race and he went on to capture the race win ahead of second-place Kirk Weatherman. Bryan Sircely finished third with Vinnie Virga and Craig Curran rounding out the top five.

Oberst and Weatherman repeated with another 1-2 finish in the second Group 2 race. Virga battled to a podium finish in third. Ben Corson and Curran took the fourth and fifth-place spots.

Lattanzi was again fast in Sunday qualifying. His time of 1:50.95 set the pace, but Weatherman had the winning formula during the race. Weatherman outran Lattanzi to the finish line with Oberst coming home third. Sircely was fourth and Corson wound up fifth.

Weatherman completed the Sunday sweep with the win in the second Group 2 race. Corson was runner-up for his best finish and Lattanzi completed his big weekend with the final podium spot. Oberst had another solid showing in fourth and Curran completed the top five.


Philip Jasper won the title by four points over Dai, although Weatherman accumulated the most points over the course of the season before drops. The final results were Jasper with 190 points, followed by Dai with 186. Weatherman was third with 182 points with Gabe Jasper at 179 and Willcox at 171 rounding out the top five.

Charles Shiner won the prestigious Sportsman of the Year award which goes to the driver who best embodies the spirit of Bertil Roos. Factors such as mentoring younger drivers, keeping a positive energy and bringing a spirit of community amongst the drivers are all taken into account.

Chris Willcox was honored as the Hard Charger of the Year that goes to the driver who has the most position gains from qualifying over the course of the season.

Bryan Sircely earned the Rookie of the Year after finishing eighth in the overall point standings.


Back To News Page